It is the Song That Never Ends

I have lost count of the number of times I have gone to my neurology appointment and spent time hearing my doctor tell me that she is so happy with my MRI scans. It’s so easy to forget that this is serious business. Or maybe I am trying to pretend.

At any rate, the scan showed a new tumor. This one is located in my cerebellum, very close to the cervical spine. It is the smallest of the three. But, it concerns me because it wasn’t there two months ago. It also concerns my doctor. I will be going back on chemo tomorrow. There is also concern the second tumor is acting up because of symptoms I am having.

I am stirred but not shaken. Tears come easily and I fret about many things. God is my strength and my song and He has become my salvation. He has held my hand every step of the way and I know He will not let me go now. A man of God I once knew called this valley walking.

I will have another MRI in one month.

Joyfully, Elyse

11 thoughts on “It is the Song That Never Ends

  1. Your comments remind me of Paul’s words in 2 Corinthians 4 – “We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed; always carrying in the body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be manifested in our bodies.” While Paul was talking about ministry opposition, who is to say that what you are enduring is not ministry opposition? Maybe one day God said to Satan, “Have you seen my servant, Elyse?” Regardless, the bigger point is that in your weakness, Elyse, Jesus shines through. Can anything greater be said about any of us?

    I never quite know how to say that we want to walk through this valley with you when there is no way that we can, apart from enduring something very close to what you are experiencing. And, yet, God gives us the body of Christ – he gives us one another to support in such ways so that no one must walk alone. Even so, Jesus is the only one who can walk step for step, and it is evident that, confusing and painful as this valley is, you are walking with him as he walks with you! It is our privilege, in the body, to get as close as we can, and to weep and laugh with you as you weep and laugh. Thank you, Elyse, for allowing Jesus to shine through the earthen vessel (also, 2 Corinthians 4) that he has given you.

    The end of 2 Corinthians 4? I would not presume to invoke such words if your life did not give such testimony to their truth, being fearful of, as Proverbs warns against, singing songs to a heavy heart. Alas, your life gives testimony to the truth at the end of this remarkable chapter: “So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.”

  2. I am saddened to hear this latest report, but I know you will fight this. My thoughts and prayers are with you and Craig and the children. Enjoy every minute and keep smiling that beautiful smile Elyse. Love you, Mom Fenerty

  3. May God’s peace and strength be yours in these difficult days, and may you continue to sing His song, and shine His light.

Leave a Reply

